欢迎您来到北京大学量子电子学研究所! 联系电话:010-6275-3208
冷原子1
当前位置:研究方向 < 冷原子1

拓扑量子相变和量子磁性模拟是当今超冷原子物理领域的前沿研究。在绝对零度下改变多粒子系统的某一参数, 如粒子间的耦合强度、压力或外加磁场强度, 可以将系统从一种有序状态连续变化到另一种有序状态。由于在临界点附近热力学涨落和量子涨落同等重要, 这类相变与仅由温度所引起的热力学相变完全不同, 被称为量子相变。但是在绝对零度下,一个量子系统可能还存在另外一种量子相变,这种量子相变过程并不存在朗道理论的自发对称破缺, 其行为是由系统基态波函数的整体性质决定的,系统在相变点两边均处于无序相之中, 也不存在描述和区分这两个相的定域的序参量,但可能存在非定域的序参量,这类相变我们称之为拓扑量子相变[1]。例如在分数量子霍耳效应中, 电导量子平台之间的相变就是一个典型的拓扑量子相变。

然而,要操控量子相变的参量在凝聚态物理中是十分困难的,我们可以利用光晶格中的量子气体实现这种操控,从而研究量子相变的机理以及发现新的量子相变与实现新的物态。


1 非零温下的量子相图

对于光晶格中的双组份玻色子或费米子,通过赝自旋变量↑和↓以及相互作用U≫J来标记它们。使用动能项的二阶微扰理论,我们将Bose-Hubbard模型的哈密顿量对应到光晶格中相邻格点原子间具有等效自旋-自旋相互作用的Heisenberg模型,

        其中超交换耦合强度Jex+(-)号代表费米子或者玻色子的情况[2],并因此使系统趋于反铁磁(铁磁)序的相。

2 超交换相互作用原理图[3]

        超交换相互作用是形成强关联电子介质中量子磁性的基础,对相邻格点等效自旋-自旋相互作用的控制也成为量子磁性模拟的新途径。这种相互作用是粒子向相邻格点“虚”跳跃的结果:一个粒子跳跃到相邻格点的同时,一个相同粒子(或者相邻格点中的粒子)跳跃回到它原来所在的格点[4]。对于双自旋极化的费米子,这样的跳跃受到泡利不相容原理的抑制,因此具有相反自旋的两个粒子可以产生跳跃并引起粒子总能量的降低。
           

3 铁磁序                                         4 反铁磁序


光学晶格中的超冷量子气体

      光晶格是由一对相向传播的相干激光干涉形成的周期性光学势阱,势阱周期等于形成光晶格的激光的波长的一半。在光晶格势阱中,由于ACStark效应产生的光偶极力作用,可以把原子囚禁在光强最强处或最弱处:如果光晶格激光的频率相对于特定的原子跃迁为红失谐,原子就被光晶格囚禁在光强最强处;如果光晶格激光的频率相对于特定原子跃迁为蓝失谐,则原子会被囚禁在光强最弱处。
 
图5 一维、二维与三维光晶格示意图
 
图6 光晶格中的能带结构图
      有关光晶格中超冷原子研究的一个重要原因是其与固态系统的相似性,通过对原子种类和晶格间距的适当选择,我们可以在一个相对可控的实验条件下模拟出多体系统中许多难以达到的条件,进而对凝聚态物理中的相关问题展开探索。例如,通过对Fermi-Hubbard模型的探索和对超交换相互作用动力学机制的研究来尝试给出高温超导问题的答案。
图7 三束互成120度激光形成的六角形光晶格
 
图8 两组垂直对射激光形成的光晶格,两组激光的相位差分别为0,π/6,π/3,π/2,2π/3,5π/6
      在实验中,通过对每束光晶格激光光强的全动态控制,我们可以设定特定条件下量子多体系统的相关参数。未来我们准备通过改变光晶格激光的角度和偏振关系来获得其他构型的光晶格结构,以期对更为新奇的拓扑量子相变和更加复杂的量子磁性展开模拟和研究。我们首先通过磁光阱和光偶极阱中强迫蒸发冷却的方法获得30nK的87Rb原子玻色-爱因斯坦凝聚体,然后将凝聚体装载到由三束驻波激光交叠形成的三维光学晶格中。图1是我们在实验上获得的三维光晶格中超流态到Mott绝缘态量子相变的物质波干涉图样,图2是利用一维玻色气体形成的量子牛顿摆。
 
图9 三维光晶格中超流态到Mott绝缘态量子相变
 
图10 量子牛顿摆

实验系统概述

      整体实验包含真空系统、激光系统、磁场系统、成像系统以及时序控制系统。实验真空系统包括科学腔、二维磁光阱、原子源、离子泵等部分,如下图所示。科学腔真空度为3×10-9Pa,二维磁光阱腔体内真空度为3×10-7Pa。科学腔为鼓形,包括8个2.75英寸窗口、16个1.33英寸窗口以及上下2个8英寸窗口用于通光,其中上下窗口贴近腔体中心位置,为今后实验实现原位探测提供较大的数值孔径。
 
图11 真空系统实物图
      中性87Rb原子共有87个核子和37个核外电子,是复合玻色子,自然丰度为27.8%(另外一种稳定的同位素85Rb约占72.2%),原子核半衰期4.88×1010年,通常条件可以认为是稳定的。
 
图12 87Rb原子D2跃迁线超精细结构示意图
      87Rb原子的核自旋I=3/2,基态52S1/2分裂为两个超精细能级,分别为F=1 和F=2,它们之间的分裂间距为6.835GHz,被用来作为铷原子频标的工作频率;第一激发态52P3/2分裂为F=0,1,2,3四个超精细能级。它们之间的跃迁被称为87Rb原子的D2线跃迁,图8显示了87Rb原子D2线超精细结构的细节,并标注了搭建激光冷却实验系统的激光中心频率,图中能级分裂单位是MHz。13是实验激光系统的实物图。
 
图13 激光系统实物图
      光偶极阱是由光场与原子的偶极矩相互作用而产生的,典型的深度为毫开尔文以下。由于产生光偶极阱的激光通常情况下都是远失谐激光,因此原子在光偶极阱中被激发的概率非常低,可以很好的用于囚禁中性原子,并进一步通过蒸发冷却的方法快速获得玻色-爱因斯坦凝聚体。
图14 光偶极阱光路示意图

[1]S. Sachdev, Quantum Phase Transition (Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, 1999).

[2]A. Auerbach, Interacting Electrons and Quantum Magnetism (Springer, Berlin, 2006).

[3]S. Trotzky et al., Time-Resolved Observation and Control of Superexchange Interactions with Ultracold Atoms in Optical Lattices, Science 319, 295 (2008).

[4]I. Bloch et al., Quantum simulations with ultracold quantum gases, Nature Phys. 8, 267 (2012).

Welcome To IQE! Tel:010-6275-3208
BEC1
The current position:Research < BEC1

    Topological quantum phase transition and quantum magnetism simulation are the frontier researches in the field of ultracold atomic physics. Changing a certain parameter of multi-particle systems when under the absolute zero degree, such as the coupling strength, the pressure or the external magnetic field strength, the system can be continuously changed from one ordered state to another. Since the thermodynamic fluctuations are as important as the quantum fluctuations when at the critical point, this kind of phase transition is completely different from the thermodynamic phase transition induced by temperature and is called as the quantum phase transition. But when under the absolute zero degree, another kind of quantum phase transition may also exist in a quantum system. This special kind of quantum phase transition process does not exist of spontaneous symmetry breaking of Landau theory and the behavior is determined by the bulk properties of the wave function for the ground state of the system. The system is in disordered phases at both sides of the phase transition point and there is no localized order parameter to describe or distinguish the two phases. But a non-localized order parameter may exist and this kind of quantum phase transition is called as topological quantum phase transition [1]. For example, the phase transition between the conductance quantum platform in the fractional quantum Hall effect is a typical topological quantum phase transition.

    However, the manipulation of the parameters of quantum phase transitions in condensed matter physics is very difficult. We can achieve this by using quantum gas in an optical lattice to study the quantum phase transition mechanism and discover novel quantum phase transitions even the implementation of novel states.
FIG.1 Quantum phase diagram under non zero temperature
    For the two-component bosons or fermions in optical lattices, tag them with the pseudospin variable ↑ and and interaction U≫J. Using the two order perturbation theory of the kinetic energy term, we correspond the Bose-Hubbard model to the Heisenberg model which has the equivalent spin-spin interaction between adjacent lattice sites,
    The sign + (-) of the superexchange coupling strengthJex represents fermions (bosons) situation [2], therefore makes the system tend to be antiferromagnetic (ferromagnetic) order.

FIG.2 The principle diagram of the superexchange interaction [3]

    The superexchange interaction is the basis for the formation of the quantum magnetic properties in strongly correlated electronic media. The control of the equivalent spin-spin interaction between adjacent lattice sites is also a new way of quantum magnetic simulation. This interaction results from the "virtual" jump between adjacent lattice sites: a particle jumps to adjacent sites, a same particle (or a particle in adjacent sites) jumps back to where it was originally in the lattice at the same time [4]. For the double-spin polarized fermions, such a jump is inhibited by the Pauli exclusion principle. Therefore, two particles of opposite spin can jump and cause a reduction in the total energy of particles.
               
   FIG.3 Ferromagnetic order                    FIG.4 Antiferromagnetic order

Ultracold quantum gases in optical lattices


      An optical lattice is typically formed by two interfering laser beams, giving rise to a periodic intensity pattern which is seen as a periodic potential by the atoms. In the optical lattice potential well, the atoms can be trapped in the strongest or weakest position of the laser intensity due to the optical dipole forces arising from the AC Stark effect: If the light field is red-detuned (light frequency smaller than atomic transition frequency) the atoms will be drawn to the intensity maximum, provided they are in the ground state; A blue detuned light field repells the atoms to dark regions.

 

FIG.5 Schematic diagram of one dimensional, two dimensional and

three dimensional optical lattices
 

FIG.6 Band structure in optical lattice

      One key motivation for the work with ultracold atoms in the optical lattices is the similarity to solid state systems. The appropriate choice of atomic species and lattice spacing and depth allows to enter the typical parameter regime for solids and to explore condensed matter phenomena in a controlled and almost pure environment. One highlight certainly is the search for the mechanism behind high-temperature superconductivity by exploring the Fermi-Hubbard model and the mechnisms of superexchange interactions.

FIG.7 Hexagonal optical lattices formed by three laser beams with 120 degrees of each other

 
FIG.8 Optical lattices formed by two pairs of vertical laser beams, phase difference between the two pairs of beams:0,π/6,π/3,π/2,2π/3,5π/6
    Full dynamical control over the individual laser-beam intensities as well as over the relative phase between the two standing waves forming the lattice allows us to set all relevant parameters of the atomic many-body system. We obtain 87Rb Bose-Einstein condensates with the temperature of 30nK by magneto-optical trap and forced evaporative cooling in optical dipole trap, then load the condensates into a three-dimensional optical lattice formed by three standing wave laser beams. FIG.9 is the material wave interference pattern of the quantum phase transition from the superfluid state to the Mott insulating state we obtained in the three-dimensional optical lattice. FIG.10 is the quantum Newton’s cradle formed by using one-dimensional Bose gases.
 

FIG.9 Quantum phase transition from superfluid to Mott insulating in a three dimensional optical lattice

 

FIG.10 Quantum Newton’s cradle

Summary of experimental system


      The experimental vacuum system is composed of scientific cavity, two dimensional magnetic optical trap, atomic source and ion pump, as shown in Figure 11. The science chamber vacuum is 10-9 Pa and the two-dimensional magneto-optical trap cavity vacuum is 10-7 Pa. The science chamber is drum shaped, including eight 2.75-inch windows, sixteen 1.33-inch windows and two 8-inch windows in up and down direction. These two 8-inch windows are close to the center of the chamber, for future experimental realization of in situ detection with large numerical aperture.
 

FIG.11 Vacuum system

      Neutral 87Rb atoms are composite bosons with 87 nucleons and 37 extranuclear electrons, the natural abundance is 27.8% (also a stable isotope85Rb accounted for 72.2%), the nuclear half-life is 4.88×1010 years, considered to be stable in usual conditions.

 

FIG.12 Rubidium 87 D2 transition hyperfine structure

      87Rb atomic nuclear spin I=3/2, ground state 52S1/2 splits into two hyperfine levels, F=1 and F2 respectively, the division of space between them is 6.835GHz, which is used as rubidium atomic frequency; the first excited state 52P3/2 splits into F=0, 1, 2, 3 four hyperfine levels. The transition between them is called as 87Rb D2 atomic line transition. Figure 12 shows the87Rb D2 line hyperfine structural details; Figure 13 is the laser system.
 

FIG.13 Laser system

      The optical dipole trap is generated by the interaction between the light field and the atomic dipole moment. The typical depth is below millikelvin. Due to the optical dipole trap laser usually are far detuned laser, the excited probability of atoms in an optical dipole trap is very low. Thus the optical dipole trap is very useful as neutral atoms trap, and further by evaporative cooling method of quick access to Bose-Einstein condensates.

FIG.14 Schematic diagram of optical dipole trap


[1]S. Sachdev, Quantum Phase Transition (Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, 1999).

[2]A. Auerbach, Interacting Electrons and Quantum Magnetism (Springer, Berlin, 2006).

[3]S. Trotzky et al., Time-Resolved Observation and Control of Superexchange Interactions with Ultracold Atoms in Optical Lattices, Science 319, 295 (2008).

[4]I. Bloch et al., Quantum simulations with ultracold quantum gases, Nature Phys. 8, 267 (2012).